Governance 101: Senate

September 12, 2017


Who They Are

The Senate governs all academic policy at McGill, and includes representatives from all of McGill’s constituent groups, including students, faculty, staff, administrators, members of the Board of Governors, and alumni. Members of the Senate, called “Fellows,” are either elected, appointed, or given membership based on their office. Of the 21 student senators, 13 are elected by SSMU, including the SSMU President and Vice-President University Affairs. The remaining eight include two members of MACES, one member of MCSS, and five members of the PGSS, including a single postdoctoral scholar.

What They Do

The Senate is mandated to govern academic policies, such as the development of curricula, regulations for admissions, and requirements for degrees, diplomas, and certificates. It additionally takes on a much broader role at McGill, including managing the university’s libraries, developing its infrastructure, and…

Click here to read the full story on the McGill Tribune website!

Author: Domenic

I am an aspiring journalist, former news editor at The McGill Tribune, and an undergraduate student of Political Science and International Development at McGill University. I am from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I am interested in news and opinion media primarily, with particular regard for public policy, municipal politics, and international relations. I am also interested in music journalism! Check out my site to see all of my articles, my resume, and other projects of mine. Contact Email: Phone: 1-267-467-8906